CVMA celebrates 2020 award winners

CVMA celebrates 2020 award winners

CVMA was pleased to recognize its 2020 award winners and 50-year awardees during the annual CVMA membership meeting held December 6. Thank you to all of our exceptional members for your outstanding work and service to the veterinary community — cheers to you!

Veterinarian of the Year: Maggie Baldwin, DVM

CVMA recognizes Dr. Maggie Baldwin for her tireless effort, unparalleled enthusiasm, and outstanding service to the veterinary profession and the entire state of Colorado throughout this difficult year in her role as the Assistant State Veterinarian. Dr. Baldwin has played a key role in the state’s COVID-19 response and has helped bridge the gap between regulatory veterinarians and general practitioners. Congratulations, Dr. Baldwin, and thank you for your leadership during this challenging year!


Distinguished Service Award: Sam Romano, DVM, MBA

CVMA recognizes Dr. Sam Romano for his long legacy of service with both CVMA and CSU, and for his passion and dedication to helping serve and support early career veterinarians. Dr. Romano has a strong reputation as a male advocate for women, regularly pointing out ways in which women may be placed at a disadvantage in veterinary medicine and helping early career female veterinarians learn how to advocate for themselves. Congratulations, Dr. Romano, and thank you for your service to the profession!


President’s Award: Garry Watts

CVMA recognizes CVMA friend Garry Watts for his dedication to CVMA and the Western Slope veterinary community throughout the years. Since retiring from the industry, Garry has always been willing to volunteer for CVMA on the drop of a hat. As “CVMA ambassador” for the Western Slope, Garry has been instrumental in connecting with veterinarians throughout Colorado. CVMA is stronger as a community thanks to Garry’s friendship and support. Congratulations, Garry, and thank you for your dedication to supporting our CVMA community!


50-Year Awardees

CVMA also recognized its 50-year awardees. These special awards recognize current CVMA members upon their 50th year of graduation from veterinary school.

Donald Smith, DVM | CSU

Aubrey Lavizzo, DVM | TUS

James Wright, DVM | KSU

Carl Heckendorf, DVM | CSU

Delio Tamayo, DVM

Jerry Brown, DVM | CSU

Stephen Crane, DVM | UCD

Frank Douthit, DVM | KSU

David Komitor, DVM

John Cunningham, DVM | ISU

Bruce Louderback, DVM | UIL

Martin Shellabarger, DVM | CSU

Philip Haas, DVM | PUR

Philip Ensley, DVM | TUS

John Rule, DVM | KSU

C. Wayne Mcllwraith, BVSc | NZ

Willis Willhoit, DVM | CSU

Kenneth Brady, DVM | KSU

Nolan Rucker, DVM | UMO

Alexander Marshall, DVM | KSU


Thanks to our 2020 awards sponsor, American National Property and Casualty Insurance Co.!

A message from the sponsor:

American National was proud to sponsor CVMA’s 2020 awards presentation and congratulates all the worthy recipients. During such a challenging year, how wonderful to recognize those whose many contributions have earned them such distinction. Located throughout Colorado, American National agents are here to serve the insurance needs of CVMA members and welcome your inquiry.