About the CVMA Awards

The CVMA Awards recognize outstanding achievements of those who positively impact the veterinary profession in Colorado. CVMA is proud to honor and celebrate members of the Colorado veterinary community for their contributions to the veterinary profession in Colorado.

All award winners are traditionally recognized during the annual CVMA membership meeting.

Veterinarian of the Year Award

The CVMA Veterinarian of the Year Award is a peer-nominated award that recognizes the outstanding achievements of a CVMA member veterinarian. Peer nominations are now open for the 2024 CVMA Veterinarian of the Year!


  • Awardees must be a current CVMA member.
  • Awardees must be a veterinarian.
  • Awardees must not have received the Veterinarian of the Year Award within the past 10 years.
  • Awardees may be employed in any field of work (practice, research, education, organization, public service, or regulatory service), or may also be retired.


  • July 31: Nomination submission deadline for Veterinarian of the Year
  • August 5: Veterinarian of the Year winner and nominator notified
  • September 5: All award winners recognized during virtual CVMA Member Meeting


Distinguished Service Award

The CVMA Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual by the CVMA Board of Directors in recognition of service to the community, the veterinary profession, or the association. This award winner is recognized during the annual membership meeting alongside the Veterinarian of the Year.


  • This award is open to both members and non-members.
  • Awardees need not be veterinarians.

Life Membership Award

The CVMA Life Membership Award recognizes current CVMA member veterinarians who are entering their 40th year of membership with CVMA. CVMA offers a complimentary membership to veterinarians who reach the 40-year milestone of membership with CVMA; these members are recognized during the annual CVMA member meeting.


  • This award is open to current members who have been CVMA members for 40 years.
  • Awardees must be veterinarians.