These courses are included in all CVMA memberships for FREE! Click the button below to log into your portal and access the courses.
Not a member? These courses are available for purchase individually or as a package; bundle both courses to save!
CVMA members get these courses for FREE as a part of their membership! Join now and receive both courses for free as part of your membership dues.
No refunds will be provided after product has been purchased. If you purchase these courses and then decide to become a member to get the courses for free as a part of membership, please contact CVMA prior to signing up for a membership; CVMA will be happy to apply the value of the courses as a credit to the cost of your membership.
Please note that CVMA will release fresh versions of these courses each licensing cycle (even-numbered years). CVMA regularly refreshes its educational content to ensure information is accurate, up-to-date, and relevant to practitioners. Once a new version of this course is made available, the previous course will no longer be accessible and the new course will need to be purchased.
Helping veterinarians succeed in Colorado is a key part of the CVMA mission. To help Colorado veterinarians navigate the CE requirements for Colorado veterinarian license renewal, CVMA has created a list of frequently asked questions.
How many hours of CE do these trainings offer?
The substance use prevention training CE provides 1 hour of CE that can be applied toward your total 32 hours needed for license renewal.
The practice act jurisprudence CE provides 2 hours of CE that can be applied toward your total 32 hours needed for license renewal.
I’m a CVMA member; how do I get this CE for free?
Make sure you are logged in to your member profile on the CVMA website — the courses appear automatically in your member portal! Click “State-Required CE” at the top of your portal when you are logged in, and the courses will appear in the dropdown menu.
Are these CE courses only available to CVMA members?
No! This CE is available to all CVMA members as a part of their membership dues, and is available to non-members for a fee. Non-member veterinarians may become CVMA members to get this CE for free.
How do I access this CE?
This CE is available on demand as recorded webinars on the CVMA website. “On demand” means that you can watch the CE as a webinar recording anytime that is convenient for you — there is no scheduled time for viewing. If you are not a current CVMA member, access instructions will be emailed to you after you register for the CE; if you are a CVMA member, the CE is automatically available to you in your member portal.
I took Substance Use Prevention Training for the 2022 Colorado licensing period; do I need to take it again?
Yes. The state requires training on substance use prevention and practice act jurisprudence be completed EACH licensing cycle. CVMA has released new course material to ensure the most relevant and accurate information is included.
How does the CE from CVMA compare to other CE options out there?
The substance use prevention training CE offered by CVMA is unique in that it meets ALL four key topic areas required by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine for CE on substance use prevention training, all in one CE session. CVMA is not aware of other options for the veterinary practice act jurisprudence CE.
How will I receive my CE certificate once I’ve completed these courses?
You will be prompted to fill out a form at the end of each video; after completing the form, your CE certificate(s) will be emailed to you.
I’m a practice manager; can I purchase or register for one recording and have all the doctors in my practice watch it?
The Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine requires this CE to be verifiable. CVMA verifies completion of this CE by asking every veterinarian to complete the registration process so that we can track who has completed the CE. To receive a CE certificate, each veterinarian must have his or her own registration; only one CE certificate will be issued per registration.
I have a question about my license – can CVMA help with that?
While we love to be as helpful as we can, unfortunately CVMA does not manage Colorado veterinary licenses and is unable to help with specific questions related to licensing. Licensing is managed by DORA. DORA has a list of FAQs on their account login page that references some helpful steps related to licensing. Specific licensing questions can be directed to [email protected].
Are these CE requirements in addition to the 32 hours of CE currently required by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine?
No. The 1 hour of CE on substance use prevention and 2 hours of CE on practice act jurisprudence are included in the 32 hours of CE already required by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Do I just have to take these trainings one time?
The state requires veterinarians to complete these trainings EACH licensing cycle.
Are these licensing requirements a CVMA requirement?
No. These licensing requirements are a result of legislation that was passed in Colorado. CVMA is assisting veterinarians in obtaining the required CE by offering it virtually to veterinarians looking to renew their Colorado licenses.
What else do I need to know about the substance use prevention training requirement?
What else do I need to know about the jurisprudence practice act requirement?
Who can I contact for more information?
For more information about the new requirements, please contact the State Board of Veterinary Medicine at [email protected]. For additional questions about this CE offered by CVMA specifically, please contact CVMA at [email protected].