CVMA announces 2021 award winners

CVMA announces 2021 award winners

CVMA was pleased to recognize its 2021 award winners and Life Membership awardees during the virtual annual CVMA membership meeting held December 5. Thank you to all of our exceptional members for your outstanding work and service to the veterinary community — cheers to you!

Veterinarian of the Year: Matt Fordham, DVM

CVMA recognizes Dr. Matt Fordham as the 2021 CVMA Veterinarian of the Year. Dr. Fordham, owner of Tall Grass Animal Hospital, is a veterinarian who has set a true example of what it means to lead in a practice during the time of COVID. Dr. Fordham was nominated by a member of his team for being an exceptional leader and employer during the pandemic, working hard to maintain consistent communication with his team while also ensuring employees felt heard and valued during stressful and uncertain times. Dr. Fordham is well-loved by his clients, taking the time to contact his clients from home on his days off from work as well as being known for taking supplies to client’s doorsteps when they are unable to make it into the clinic. Dr. Fordham is the quintessential Colorado veterinarian and leader.

Congratulations, Dr. Fordham, and thank you for your leadership in the practice during this challenging few years!


 Distinguished Service Award: Robert Lee, PhD

CVMA recognizes Dr. Robert Lee for his 30+ years of service supporting CSU veterinary students in the veterinary laboratory. Dr. Lee’s wealth of knowledge and willingness to go above and beyond for students is unmatched. Dr. Lee knows each student’s name and background before the first day of class, routinely surprising students when he addresses them by name. While leading Anatomic Services, Dr. Lee has been responsible for providing the laboratory teaching materials for functional anatomy, surgical anatomy, reproductive biology, veterinary neuroscience, and undergraduate comparative anatomy. He can be routinely found preparing teaching materials on weekends and over holidays. Dr. Lee is heading into a very well-deserved retirement at the end of this year…he is a true legend and will be sorely missed, but we are pleased to be able to recognize him here tonight.

Congratulations, Dr. Lee, and thank you for your service in support of the veterinarians of tomorrow!


President’s Award: Leo Boyle

CVMA recognizes CVMA friend Leo Boyle for his longstanding loyalty to CVMA in the role of lobbyist. As Leo likes to put it, he has been CVMA’s lobbyist since Noah unloaded his ark. Leo has been CVMA’s lobbyist for several decades, and has built many friendships with Colorado’s veterinarians over that time. While not a veterinarian himself, he is intimately familiar with the issues and challenges faced by the profession, and always relishes the opportunity to explain and advocate the concerns of veterinarians at the state capitol. This is Leo’s third time guiding CVMA and Colorado’s veterinarians through the sunset review and reauthorization of the Veterinary Practice Act. Leo will tell you that he has always enjoyed his relationship with the veterinary profession, and he respects the quality and character of Colorado’s veterinarians.

Congratulations, Leo, and thank you for your dedication to supporting our CVMA community!


Life Membership awardees

CVMA also recognized its Life Membership awardees. The CVMA Life Member awards recognize current CVMA members who are entering their 40th year of membership with CVMA. This means they have been members of CVMA since 1981…an impressive amount of time to be dedicated to organized veterinary medicine! CVMA offers a complimentary membership to veterinarians who reach the 40-year milestone of membership with CVMA in recognition of their support to the Colorado veterinary community.

Congratulations to the following 2021 Life Membership awardees!

Stuart Aanes, DVM

Joni Edwards, DVM

Lynn Ferguson, DVM

Jean Fromm, DVM

Keith Lorensen, DVM

Randa MacMillan, DVM, MS

James Noone, DVM

David Roberts, DVM

Harvey Shaffer, DVM

Mary Anne Smith, DVM

Stephen Withrow, DVM, ACVIM, ACVS

Tony Woodward, DVM, DAVDC