13 Feb CVMA will offer CE to meet new requirement for substance use prevention training
Many Colorado veterinarians may have heard about a new requirement in the State Board of Veterinary Medicine rules (Rule 1.2(G) on page 9) for substance use prevention training for licensing. Here’s what you need to know about the new requirement:
- The new rules are based on SB19-228 (Substance Use Disorders Prevention), which was passed during the 2019 Colorado legislative session. Read more about the background of this bill and the new rules.
- The new rules went into effect on November 30, 2019 and require any veterinarian who is seeking a license renewal, reactivation, or reinstatement to complete at least one hour of CE per licensing cycle related to:
- Best practices for opioid prescribing, according to the most recent version of the Division’s Guidelines for Prescribing and Dispensing Opioids;
- Recognition of substance use disorders;
- Referral of patients with substance use disorders for treatment; and,
- Use of the Electronic Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.
- To the extent the statutorily required training pertains to the practice of human medicine, this training does not authorize veterinary medicine practitioners to engage in the practice of human medicine, nor does it require the veterinary medicine practitioner to refer human beings to treatment for suspected substance abuse disorders.
- The new requirements exempt any veterinarian who meets the following criteria:
- Maintains a national board certification that requires equivalent substance use prevention training; or
- Attests to the Board that the health care provider does not prescribe opioids.
Helping veterinarians succeed in Colorado is a key part of the CVMA mission. To help Colorado veteirnarians navigate the new substance use prevention training requirements, CVMA has created a list of frequently asked questions.
Will CVMA offer CE to fulfill these requirements?
Yes. CVMA is in the process of developing CE that will meet the licensing requirements.
When and how will the CE be available?
This CE will be provided during CVMA’s chapter visits in 2020 (more details coming soon), and will also be available at CVMA Convention 2020 (September 10-13 in Keystone, Colorado). Additionally, CVMA is working on other opportunities and formats to provide veterinarians access to this CE throughout 2020.
How many hours of CE are required to meet these requirements?
The State Board of Veterinary Medicine requires 1 hour per licensing cycle on this topic.
Is this new training in addition to the 32 hours of CE currently required by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine?
No. This 1 hour of training on substance use prevention is included in the 32 hours of CE already required by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
How can I sign up to be notified when CVMA has more details on when the CE will be available?
Veterinarians can click here to sign up and be added to an email notification list.
Why was this requirement added?
On May 23, 2019, Governor Jared Polis signed SB19-228 Substance Use Disorders Prevention. The new law requires the State Board of Veterinary Medicine to adopt rules on substance use prevention training for prescribers; the new rules went into effect on November 30, 2019. Read more about the background of the bill and CVMA’s input on the new rules.
Is this a CVMA requirement?
No. This new requirement is a result of legislation that was passed. CVMA is assisting veterinarians in obtaining the required CE by offering it at chapter visits and convention.
Where can I read more about the new substance use prevention training requirements?
Veterinarians can find more information on the requirements in Rule 1.2(G) on page 9 of the new Rules.
Who can I contact for more information?
For more information about the new requirements, please contact the State Board of Veterinary Medicine at email@example.com. For additional questions about the CE that will be offered by CVMA, please contact CVMA at firstname.lastname@example.org.